Thoughts on Insecurity

Perhaps, maybe, I’m just not good enough.

There, I said it.

I don’t think I’m the only fledgling writer in the universe who has ever second guessed her talent, her ability, or whatever the heck you call someone’s ability to type works on a laptop and create a story.

My spirit soars when someone says my work is fun, funny.  Someone said that Singleish had the best ending they’d ever read.  Seriously, you have NO IDEA how freaking good that felt.  I submitted Singleish for an independent review and got an amazing five star review that blew my socks off.  Literally.  I am now barefoot! Perhaps I exaggerate…perhaps not.

Then, in my downtime, I read.  I read works by people whose talent is far superior to mine (like my good friend, A. E. Murphy).  I am absorbed into the lives of characters who are incredible and dynamic and the tendrils of self doubt creep into my mind.  What if I’m just not good enough?  What if Singleish was a one time deal? What if, in my attempt to dig deeper with Secondhand Purses, I’m trying too hard and I lose what people loved about Singleish.

What if I have the dreaded…dare I say it…sophomore slump.  UGH.

I need to get out of my head.  Time to put words on a page.

Leave a Reply

