Asking for help

So, I’m not good at it.  Not many people I know are.

But sometimes, it is necessary.

When I released Singleish in May, I didn’t know what the heck I was doing. Not. At. All.  I figured, you write a book, you publish it, and people want to read it, right?  WRONG!

I had the writing part handled, the cover handled, I’d created a website (here), I’d created an author page on Amazon, a Goodreads page, a Smashwords page.  I had a special author page on Facebook that I’m so much better at updating than my website (oops).  But I had no idea how to get the word out.

So this time around, I’m admitting it.  I need help.  I contacted Dedicated Ink Promotions and asked for help coming out with an idea for a publicity plan.  I told her I wanted to release Secondhand Purses (affectionately referred to in my head as SHP) around Christmas.

She advised against it.  I tried to argue my point, she stated that her experience has show web traffic is greatly reduced at Christmas time,and that if I actually wanted my book to sell (which I do), I should wait until the second week of January.

Here’s the thing about asking for help and advice…  it’s a good idea to take it if the person you are asking is more experienced than you.  So…I’m taking the advice.

Secondhand Purses will be completed the first week of December (well, first draft, anyway.  Then it’s the ‘fun’ of editing.).  You will get to see the promotional efforts as they unfold.  In the meantime, it’s time for me to stop blogging and get back to writing.

Leave a Reply

